In order to bring you the best possible user experience, this site uses Javascript. If you are seeing this message, it is likely that the Javascript option in your browser is disabled. For optimal viewing of this site, please ensure that Javascript is enabled for your browser.
Did you know that your browser is out of date? To get the best experience using our website we recommend that you upgrade to a newer version. Learn more.
COVID-19 and Cardiology Read more

Related Documents


 Election Timeline

Friday 15 November 2019
Deadline for applications

Friday 17 January 2020
First slate validation and Nominating Committee announcement

Monday 24 February 2020
Final slate announced by the Nominating Committee

Monday 1 June 2020
Start of the electronic vote

Friday 26 June 2020
Electronic vote closed

Saturday 4 July 2020
Results published on the ESC website

*In case of inconclusive results, a second round will be conducted by electronic voting between 31 July 2020 and 21 August 2020 since the ESC Congress 2020 will be a digital event.

Further information about a possible second round of voting will be circulated to the voting delegates and ESC Constituent Bodies only in the case of inconclusive results of the ESC elections.

ESC Elections

2020-2022 ESC Board, Nominating Committee and Audit Committee

Voting will be held electronically from 08:00 on Monday, 1 June until 18:00 on Friday, 26 June 2020.

Results will be posted on this page on Saturday, 4 July 2020.


Dear Colleagues,

As Chairman of the Nominating Committee, 2018-2020, I would like to announce the final slate of candidates for the 2020 ESC Elections, as approved by the ESC Nominating Committee 2018-2020.

According to the Board-approved Process and the Election Timelines, I would like to inform you that no alternative candidate proposals were submitted in the period 17 January to 17 February 2020.

Please do not hesitate to contact us for any questions you may have regarding the

Yours sincerely,

Prof. Jeroen J. Bax FESC
Chairman of the ESC Nominating Committee 2018 – 2020
ESC Immediate Past President



Candidates ESC Elections 2020 - Final Slate

(Names noted in alphabetical order)

President-Elect (1 position)

Secretary/Treasurer (1 position)

  • Thomas Lüscher (United Kingdom) | View CV
  • Bela Merkely (Hungary) | View CV

Vice Presidents (3 positions)

  • Francesco Cosentino (Sweden) | View CV
  • Julia Mascherbauer (Austria) | View CV
  • Silvia Priori (Italy) | View CV
  • Frank Ruschitzka (Switzerland) | View CV
  • Petar Seferovic (Serbia) | View CV

Councillors (6 positions)

  • Stefan Agewall (Norway) | View CV
  • Lina Badimon (Spain) | View CV
  • Victoria Delgado (Netherlands) | View CV
  • Stefanie Dimmeler (Germany) | View CV
  • Dan Gaita (Romania) | View CV
  • Petros Nihoyannopoulos (Greece) | View CV
  • Massimo Piepoli (Italy) | View CV
  • Susanna Price (United Kingdom) | View CV
  • Margus Viigimaa (Estonia) | View CV

Nominating Committee (12 positions)

(6 positions representing the National Cardiac Societies and 6 positions representing the ESC Associations, ESC Councils and ESC Working Groups)

National Cardiac Societies
Associations, Councils & Working Groups
  • Raffaele de Caterina (Italy) | View CV
  • Jean-Philippe Collet (France) | View CV
  • Ian Graham (Ireland) | View CV
  • Kristina Haugaa (Norway) | View CV
  • Imo Hoefer (Netherlands) | View CV
  • Jozef Kautzner (Czechia) | View CV
  • Roberto Pedretti (Italy) | View CV

Audit Committee (1 position)

  • Antonio Peliccia (Italy) | View CV